Tag - Users

How to Allow Users to Edit their Comments in WordPress


Have you ever felt the need to edit a comment you just left on a website?

Maybe you want to correct a spelling or grammar or error, or maybe you accidentally hit the submit button before finishing your comment.

It happens to all of us. The problem is that most WordPress sites do not allow users to edit their comments once they are published.

If you receive a lot of comments on your website, then you may want to consider allowing users to edit their own comments for a short period of time.

In this article, we’ll show you how to allow users to easily edit their comments in WordPress for a short period of time.

How to Allow Users to Edit their Ccomment in WordPress

Why Allow Users to Edit or Delete their Comments

Most WordPress sites allow users to submit comments on their articles after providing their name and email address. However, users are not allowed to edit or delete their comment.

Sometimes, people want to make changes to their comment after clicking on the submit button.

The most common scenario is to fix their mistakes like a spelling or a grammatical error. Some users may want to modify their comments to add or remove something.

There can also be some rare cases where a user may think about deleting their comment because what they wrote was is completely out of context.

Whatever the case may be, the best solution can be to allow people to edit their comments for a short period of time, maybe for the first 5 or 10 minutes.

During that time, they’ll be allowed to modify or even delete their comments.

The reason for adding the time limit is to make sure that link builders and spammers don’t abuse the comment section by adding links to their approved comments.

That being said, let’s take a look at how to easily allow users to edit their comments in WordPress.

Allowing Users to Edit Comments in WordPress

First thing you need to do is install and activate the Simple Comment Editing plugin. You can see our step by step guide on how to install a WordPress plugin for detailed instructions.

Upon activation, the plugin will allow your users to make changes to their comments within the first 5 minutes.

After the first 5 minutes, users will not able to edit their comments.

You can change this time limit by going to Settings » Simple Comment Editing in your WordPress admin area.

Simple Comment Editing plugin settings

On the settings page, you can change the time in the text field to anything you like.

However, it is recommended to set the limit under 30 minutes since the purpose is to allow users to fix the errors right away.

Once you’ve changed the time, you need to click on the Save Options button to store the changes.

Next, we recommend leaving a test comment on any of your posts, so you can see the plugin in action.

WordPress comment click to edit option

Once you’ve submitted your comment, you’ll find the “Click to Edit” link and a countdown timer below the comment text. The timer is useful for indicating the time within which you can edit your comment.

To modify your comment, you need to click on the Click to Edit link.

This will allow you to make changes to your comment. However, you’ll not be allowed to change your name, email, or website URL.

Edit comment with countdown timer

Once you’re done, you need to click on the Save button to update the comment.

If you want to delete your comment, then you have to click on the Delete button. This will open an alert box asking you to confirm that you want to delete your comment.

Allow users to delete their comments

Go ahead to click on OK to complete the process.

That’s all! We hope that this article helped you to learn how to allow users to edit their own comments in WordPress for a short period of time.

You may also want to see our guide on how to style the comment form of your WordPress site.

If you liked this article, then please subscribe to our YouTube Channel for WordPress video tutorials. You can also find us on Twitter and Facebook.

The post How to Allow Users to Edit their Comments in WordPress appeared first on WPBeginner.



Source link

How to Automatically Log out Idle Users in WordPress


Do you want to automatically log out idle users in WordPress? As a security-conscious site admin, you may want to force inactive users to login again.

Banking websites and apps already use this technique to avoid unauthorized users from accessing accounts or hijacking them. You can also implement this functionality on your own WordPress website to improve security.

In this article, we will show you how to automatically log out inactive users in WordPress. Once logged out, users will be asked to log in again to resume what they were doing.

How to automatically logout inactive or idle users in WordPress

The first thing you need to do is install and activate the Inactive Logout plugin. For more details, see our step by step guide on how to install a WordPress plugin.

Upon activation, simply go to Settings » Inactive Logout page to configure the plugin settings.

Settings page for Inactive Logout plugin

First, you need to enter the time after which a user will be automatically logged out. You can enter the time in minutes and make sure it is not too short or too long.

After that, you can enter a message that you want to be displayed to inactive users.

Below the message field, you will find more plugin options to change logout functionality. The default settings would work for most websites, but you can change them if you want.

Inactive users timeout settings

Popup Background – You can enable this option if you want to change the background color of screen when a user session times out. This option will cover the user’s browser screen and will keep the contents hidden from prying eyes.

Disable Timeout Countdown – This option will remove the countdown warning and will directly logout idle users.

Show Warn Message Only – If you don’t want to use auto logout feature, then check this option. It will only display the warning message and will cover the screen if you have popup background option checked.

Disable Concurrent Logins – This option will restrict your WordPress users from concurrent logins. This means they will not be able to use the same account to log in at the same time from different devices.

Enable Redirect – By default, the plugin displays a log in popup and does not redirect users. You can enable this option to redirect users to any other page you want.

After you have reviewed and changed settings, don’t forget to click on the ‘Save settings’ button to store your changes.

Setting up different timeout settings based on user roles

If you want to set timeout rules based on user roles and capabilities, then you can do so under the ‘Advanced Management’ tab on the plugin’s settings page.

First, you need to select the user roles that you want to set up differently than global settings. After that, you will be able to select timeout in minutes, redirects, or even disable timeout settings for that user role.

Multi-role idle user timeout settings

Once you are satisfied with the settings, click on the ‘Save settings’ button to save your changes.

To see the plugin in action, you can login to your website and do nothing for the time duration that you have set in plugin settings. After that, you will see a countdown timer popup appear.

Timeout countdown

You can click on the continue button to resume working without expiring the session.

Users who don’t click on the continue button will be logged out and they will see the login screen.

Login popup

Add More Security with Two Step Authentication

Now one problem with this approach is that many users save their passwords using a password manager or their browser’s built-in password storage feature.

This means that their login popup will already have their username and password fields filled in. Any person can just click on the login button to access their account while they are away.

Login fields already filled in

You can make unauthorized access more difficult by adding two-step verification to the WordPress login screen.

It basically requires users to enter a unique one-time password generated by an app on their phone. For detailed instructions, see our guide on how to add two-factor authentication in WordPress.

We hope this article helped you learn how to automatically log out idle users in WordPress. You may also want to see our ultimate WordPress security guide for more tips on securing your WordPress website.

If you liked this article, then please subscribe to our YouTube Channel for WordPress video tutorials. You can also find us on Twitter and Facebook.

The post How to Automatically Log out Idle Users in WordPress appeared first on WPBeginner.



Source link